Learn More
About Us

  • Activities

    Activities

    We organize webinars, workshops and conferences covering areas of practical application and which meets the needs of the clinical and research ethics community.

  • Mailers

    Mailers

    We curate news, publications and upcoming events from around the world relevant to clinical and research ethics.

  • Professional Committees

    Professional Committees

    We host networking meetings for Chairs/senior reps of CECs and IRBs to discuss complex and/or challenging cases and encourage consistency in practice across the communities.

  • Resources

    Resources

    Our cases and e-modules on clinical and research ethics can be made available for educational purposes.

Tweets by Centre for Biomedical Ethics
@nus_CBmE

Delighted to welcome our new Associate Professor @Ethical_Mikey Dunn ‼️

We look forward to his continuing research into the ethical aspects of #CommunityBasedCare & #LongTermCare, and his contributions to #EmpiricalBioethics
https://medicine.nus.edu.sg/cbme/people_uri/michael-dunn/
#Bioethics #SocialCareEthics

Dementia, The Good Life and Advance Care Planning

Philip Yap & Sumytra Menon

Tuesday 29 March 2022, 5-7pm

part of the seminar series on #Ageing & #Ethics ➡️ https://medicine.nus.edu.sg/cbme/ageing-and-ethics/ ⬅️

An Ethical Framework for Good Care at Home

Lim Zhiying

Tuesday 8 March 2022, 5-7pm

part of the seminar series on #Ageing & #Ethics ➡️ https://medicine.nus.edu.sg/cbme/ageing-and-ethics/
@NUHS

Changing Relationships and Loneliness in Old Age

@BKennedy_aging & @WaiChongNg

Tuesday 15 February 2022, 5-7pm

part of the seminar series on #Ageing & #Ethics ➡️ https://medicine.nus.edu.sg/cbme/ageing-and-ethics/ ⬅️
@NUSMedicine

How should we Age?

@BKennedy_aging & @WaiChongNg

Tuesday 8 February 2022, 5-7pm

part of the seminar series on #Ageing & #Ethics ➡️ https://medicine.nus.edu.sg/cbme/ageing-and-ethics/ ⬅️
@NUSMedicine

CBmE #ClinicalEthics Bulletin
News and Publications from around the World

Issue 1, December 2021 ➡️ https://medicine.nus.edu.sg/cbme/wp-content/uploads/sites/14/2021/12/CBmE-CE-Bulletin-Issue-1_Final.pdf 🚨

CBmE #ResearchEthics Bulletin
News and Publications from around the World

Issue 1, December 2021 ➡️ https://medicine.nus.edu.sg/cbme/wp-content/uploads/sites/14/2021/12/CBmE-RE-Bulletin-Issue-1_Final.pdf 🚨

The International Pandemic Preparedness Treaty and an Emerging #DigitalDivide

@CalvinWLHo & @KCaals

@AsiaGInstitute: https://www.asiaglobalonline.hku.hk/international-pandemic-preparedness-treaty-and-emerging-digital-divide
#Bioethics #PublicHealth #COVIDー19 @HKULaw @WHO

#Bioethics and #PublicReason: How the History of Bioethics has led to the Need for some Concept of Public Reason

Alastair V. Campbell

in: Public Reason and Bioethics, Three Perspectives
by Hon-Lam Li and Michael Campbell

https://link.springer.com/chapter/10.1007/978-3-030-61170-5_14
@Iain_A_C

Anticipatory Governance and Foresight in Regulating for Uncertainty

@TamraLysaght

AJOB: https://www.tandfonline.com/doi/abs/10.1080/15265161.2021.2001111?journalCode=uajb20
#Bioethics

Governance, Ethics & the ACT Accelerator

@upshur_ross @SuerieMoon @KatyKydd Wright & our @G_Owen_Schaefer

If you missed it, the recording of this @EpidemicsEthics seminar (13Dec21) is now online: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oXm71_tdcUo
#COVIDー19 #PublicHealth @info_TGHN

Governing the Access to #COVIDー19 Tools Accelerator: towards greater participation, transparency, and accountability

by the @WHO ACT-A Ethics & Governance Workgroup led by @SuerieMoon (with our @G_Owen_Schaefer)

in @TheLancet: https://www.thelancet.com/journals/lancet/article/PIIS0140-6736(21)02344-8/fulltext#%20
#Bioethics #PublicHealth

Governance, Ethics & the ACT Accelerator

@EpidemicsEthics Seminar:
@upshur_ross @SuerieMoon @G_Owen_Schaefer

Mo 13 Dec 2021
Toronto 8am
London 1pm
Delhi 6:30pm
Singapore 9pm

Register: https://zoom.us/webinar/register/4216387808873/WN_UkTCpSgaSmy_1ppNAfu-sg
#COVIDー19 @info_TGHN @Oxford_NDPH @Ethox_Centre @UofT @GHC_IHEID

Ventilators & #Vaccines: Lessons from the Pandemic

Lunchtime Seminar by @JulianSavulescu

Mo 13 Dec 2021
Los Angeles 8-9pm (12dec)
Delhi 9:30-10:30am
Singapore 12-1pm
Sydney 3-4pm

Abstract & Registration: https://medicine.nus.edu.sg/cbme/events/
#COVIDー19 #PublicHealthEthics @ethicsinthenews

What if more terminally ill patients with #COVIDー19 want to die at home?

Sumytra Menon, Anita Lim, Ryan Friets & @Mathavi Senguttuvan

@ChannelNewsAsia: https://www.channelnewsasia.com/commentary/covid-19-home-recovery-terminally-ill-dignity-death-2341256
#Bioethics #EndOfLife #Singapore @NUS_CBmE @NUSMedicine @NUHS

Day 2 of #ICCEC2021

From Pond Ripples to Subway Maps: Towards a Relational Disclosure Account of #Genetic Risk Information to Family Members

by @SereneAKOng

#Bioethics #ClinicalEthics @NUS_CBmE

New policy brief led by Jerome Singh & the @WHO ACT Accelerator Ethics & Governance Working Group - "COVID-19 vaccine trial designs in the context of authorized COVID-19 vaccines and expanding global access: ethical considerations" - https://apps.who.int/iris/bitstream/handle/10665/349693/WHO-2019-nCoV-Policy-brief-Vaccine-trial-design-2021.1-eng.pdf

What You've Missed